12 Elite Business and Civic Leaders to be Honored with 2014 Horatio Alger Award

Since its inception in 1947, Horatio Alger Association has annually inducted Members who have demonstrated exceptional perseverance and achieved great success despite significant personal adversity.  

WASHINGTON, D.C. (November 18, 2013) – Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., a nonprofit educational organization honoring the achievements of outstanding individuals and encouraging youth to pursue their dreams through higher education, today announced the recipients of its prestigious 2014 Horatio Alger Award. This annual award recognizes exceptional leaders – all with a commitment to philanthropy and higher education – who have overcome significant personal challenges to achieve success. 

Based upon their demonstrated perseverance, work ethic and determination to succeed, Horatio Alger Association will honor the following 12 individuals with lifetime membership into the organization:

  • Lee R. Anderson Sr., owner and chairman, APi Group, Inc.
  • David M. Cote, chairman and CEO, Honeywell
  • N. Murray Edwards, chairman, Canadian Natural Resources Limited
  • Robert Blyth Goergen, founder and chairman, Blyth, Inc.
  • Patricia L. Herbold, vice president and secretary, Herbold Foundation and Former United States Ambassador, Republic of Singapore
  • Randall Dee Hubbard, chairman, managing director, BIGHORN Golf Club
  • Mike Jackson, chairman and chief executive officer, AutoNation, Inc.
  • Jerral (Jerry) Wayne Jones Sr., owner, president and general manager, Dallas Cowboys
  • Thomas  V. McKernan, chairman of the board, Automobile Club of Southern California
  • David L. Steward, founder and chairman, World Wide Technology, Inc.
  • Peter W. Stott, president, Columbia Investments, Ltd.
  • J. Ronald Terwilliger, chairman emeritus, Trammell Crow Residential Company 

“Horatio Alger Association is built on the key principle that with hard work, determination and resilience, one can succeed despite facing incomparable personal hardships,” said Tony Novelly, president and CEO, Horatio Alger Association and 2000 Horatio Alger Award recipient.  “The 12 new Horatio Alger Members selected for the Class of 2014 are extraordinary individuals who reflect the truth of that principle and who will inspire our Scholars to pursue their dreams.  We could not be more pleased to welcome this impressive class into the Association as lifetime Members.  Undoubtedly, each will uphold and perpetuate the mission of this proud organization.” 

Each Horatio Alger Award recipient will be inducted as a new Member during the Association’s annual three-day induction ceremonies, which will be held in Washington, D.C., in April 2014.  In addition to honoring these outstanding leaders, Horatio Alger Association will also recognize its 2014 National Scholarship recipients, providing an opportunity for Scholars and Members to meet and exchange stories of their respective perseverance and success. 

In addition to presenting its annual award, Horatio Alger Association administers one of the largest, privately-funded scholarship programs for at-risk students in the United States and Canada.  Funding for its scholarships, which annually provides more than $9 million to selected students in need, is wholly supported by private donations from Association Members and friends.  

For more information about Horatio Alger Association and its newly selected Class of 2014, please visit.

Enable registration in settings - general
Shopping cart