Emerging U.S. Student and Professional Designers Accepted to the 2019 Prague Quadrennial

Designers are Notified of their Acceptance to Participate in Prestigious International Event

Press Release – LIVERPOOL, N.Y. — Thirty-four emerging student designers and 51 professional designers from the U.S. have been selected to exhibit and feature their work in the 2019 Prague Quadrennial of Performance Design and Space (PQ), the largest performance design event in the world. The 14th PQ will take place June 6-16, 2019, in Prague. The U.S. exhibition at the PQ is supported, in part, by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

A pool of close to 300 designers submitted work that plays off of the rich ethnic culture and artistic diversity of the U.S. The selected works have been divided into three exhibitions: imagination, transformation, and a performance space architecture exhibition — theatre of our world.

Featured designers are allocated space to exhibit multiple images, videos, and interviews discussing their work and careers. Exhibited designers are allocated space to exhibit multiple images. All exhibited work will be presented in digital format and will include interactive digital display panels. After its run in Prague, this work will be a touring exhibition throughout the U.S.

“I am excited by the diversity and depth of talent of the 34 student/emerging designers and the 51 professional designers selected by curators to participate in PQ 2019,” said Kevin Rigdon, USITT’s Vice President of International Activities.

The PQ is often described as the olympics or world’s fair for performance designers. USITT has been a proud sponsor of the U.S. exhibition at the PQ for more than 40 years. By exhibiting thousands of designs from dozens of countries, and by bringing together designers, directors, students, and general public, the PQ provides an unprecedented exchange of ideas that goes beyond the narrow confines of theatrical design and style.

“Encompassing the best of theatre design from the U.S. is an almost insurmountable task,” said David Grindle, USITT’s Executive Director. “The wealth of creativity and artistic expression in our nation is immense. I’m excited that USITT can share a sample with the world and with the nation as the materials tour over the next several years.”

Chosen to participate:


Allison Amidei

Amanda Jensen

Brandon Wardell

Charles Murdock Lucas

Daniel Shanahan

Debra Sivigny

Erik Lawson

Gage Williams

Harry Feiner

Helene Siebrits

Howard Fredrics

Hyun Sook Kim

Jason Thompson

John Iacovelli

Kaitlyn Pietras

Katherine Freer

Kristina Tollefson

Linda Pisano

Matt Kizer

Oran Bumroongchart

Paul Herwig

Phillip Owen

Richard Finkelstein

Rob Eastman-Mullins

Shannon Robert

Sibyl Wickersheimer

Stephanie Kerley Schwartz

You-Shin Chen

Ana Kuzmanic

Bradlee Ward & Sun Hee Kil

Carlo Maghirang

Christopher & Justin Swader

Daniel Conway

Erhard Rom

Gregory Gale

Hannah Wasileski

Izumi Inaba

Jaamil Kosoko

Josafath Reynoso

Marcus Dilliard

Marcus Doshi

Melpomene Katakalos

Mikhail Fiksel

Rodolfo Ortega

Sheryl Liu

Susan Zeemanrogers

Todd Rosenthal

Tyler Micoleau

Yi Zhao


Christina Beam

Elena Flores

E.L. Hohn

Jazmin Medina

Camilla Morrison

Cheyenne Pellicoro

Nicole Belenski

Yi-Tai Chung

Rachel Hemm

Minjoo Kim

Jo Sanburg

Cha See

ChaoYu Tsai

Katy Fetrow

Yi-Chien Lee

Carlo Maghirang

Tanya Orellana

Katherine Paik

Afsoon Pajoufar

Sera Bourgeau

Yixuan Duan

Dominique Hill

Maranda DeBusk

Pei-Yu Lai

Bruno-Pierre Houle

Frank Oliva

Lacey Erb

SooA Kim

Giada Sun

Kelsey Vidic

Samantha Gribben

Emona Stoykova

Megumi Katayama

Scott MacDonald

Enable registration in settings - general
Shopping cart